Audubon International Sustainable Community Certification

2018 Lagoon Lowering Schedule
December 29, 2017
Monday Briefing Hilton Head Island – Bluffton Chamber of Commerce
March 5, 2018

Audubon International Sustainable Community Certification

On December 27, 2017, Audubon International certified the Town of Hilton Head Island as the first public Audubon Sustainable Community in South Carolina. This was a multi-year effort encompassing three program stages which demonstrate outstanding achievements and dedication to planning for a sustainable future.

To become certified, Sustainable Communities Program members must develop and implement management practices and policies according to a community-driven long term sustainability plan. The plan has measurable goals addressing 14 focus areas including pollution prevention, improving air quality, increasing access to local foods and transportation options. Receiving the Sustainable Community designation from Audubon International was contingent upon quality and completeness of the long term sustainability plan and its implementation.

“Development on our Island was born in a climate of sustainability, and the Town of Hilton Head Island strives to continue our partnership with nature via public education, public-private partnerships, the use of green building techniques and a deep respect for our natural environment and the many natural services it provides our residents and visitors,” said Sally Krebs, Sustainable Practices Coordinator.

“As the first public member in South Carolina to receive the Audubon International Sustainable Community Certification, Hilton Head Island has demonstrated a strong commitment to sustainable living,” said Jessica Latus, Director of Sustainable Community Programs at Audubon International. “This community’s multi-stage, staff-led effort will help to preserve their unique setting and enhance quality of life for all residents over the long run.”

Hilton Head Island is the 7th community to receive this certification, joining Eufaula, Alabama; Williamston, North Carolina; Coconut Creek, Florida; Stowe Mountain Resort, Vermont; Rio Verde, Arizona; and Seabrook Island, South Carolina.

Comments are closed.